Joyful Holiday Deer

· Stamps: A Beautiful Season, Small Script, Filigree

· Paper: Old Olive, Real Red, Chocolate Chip, non-SU cream

· Ink: Chocolate Chip, Old Olive (background)

· Accessories: ribbon slider punch, red glitter, twill ribbon, antique gold embossing powder (from SU)

· Technique: embossing, sponging, edge distressing, ribbon dyeing with sponge

Ok, I have to admit I’m pretty proud of this one. I worked late Friday night into the wee

Joyful Holiday Deer

Joyful Holiday Deer

hours

of the morning Saturday to finish it, and the result is quite good (in my eyes at least!)!

First, I stamped the deer images from “A Beautiful Season” in chocolate chip ink on cream colored cardstock. Tore around the edges of image and sponged chocolate chip ink around the edge

s. Then added little streaks of antique gold embossing powder to highlight some of the snow streaks in the background around the trees. (I picked up the SU antique gold embossing powder on Friday for a whopping 50 cents at a local demonstrator’s rummage sale! I also scored two stamps (the house and the winter roofto

p scene) from the “Winter Wonderland” stamp set and purchased the “Best Blossoms” stamp set (minus the verse) for a great price! This lady has stamp sales every once in awhile, and often splits her sets up to sell them, keeping the individual stamps from the sets that she wants to hold on to and maybe use again. Can’t argue with that I guess because it allows people like myself to score some pretty gorgeous stamps f

or just a few bucks!

The only other thing worth mentioning about this card that I don’t think is already obvious from t

he photo is that I dyed the ribbon myself to match the card. I do this a lot in order to get a perfectly colored

ribbon but in the past I’ve used my stampin’ write markers to do so. I recently saw where somebody else uses a sponge to dab the ink from her pads on the ribbon and tried that and wow… works much better! No over-saturation of color anyplace like the markers sometimes leave. I do this on plain white ribbon us

ually, but in some cases use twill ribbon for a little added texture, like I did here. Let me know what you think! :0)

Joyful Holiday Deer
One Response

  1. This is soooo pretty! Love your hardware…or is it chipboard? Either way, it is FABULOUS! TFS!

Leave a Reply

