SC126 Charlie Checks In

  • Stamps: Clear Dollar Stamps “Charlie Horse” and “Paisley Perfection”
  • Paper: cream, kraft, Chocolate Chip, Ruby Red SC126 Charlie Checkin' In
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip, Ruby Red
  • Accessories: twine, colored pencils, baby oil, blending stump, edge distresser, sponge, 3d-foam, kraft knife
  • Technique: Gamsol magic, edge & ink distressing, sponging

More fun with Clear Dollar Stamps! The mother of one of my good “horsey” friends was recently called back to work after having been laid off since sometime last fall, so I created this card just for her as sort of a “congratulations.” :0) She also loves horses, so I figured this new stamp set would be a perfect one to work with for the occasion. I selected the layout from a recent sketch challenge (SC126) at SplitCoast. To select the colors, I knew I wanted to do something with red in it, because I know that is a favorite of hers. I couldn’t come up with a color combo that I liked using Real Red, so I selected Ruby Red instead as it sort of has that “homey/western-y” feel to it.

I was thrilled to use the paisley set for this card. I have wanted a paisley stamp to use for backgrounds for quite a long SC126 Charlie Checkin' In detailtime and when I came across this set from Clear Dollar Stamps I *had* to have it! It just seemed natural to put it on “kraft” cardstock for this card, and I’m very happy with how it turned out. Charlie himself was stamped twice in Chocolate Chip ink. For one of the stamped images, I used colored pencils and baby oil (“Gamsol magic” technique) to bring him to life, and used my kraft knife to cut him out and then placed him on the original stamped image to make it sort of “3D.” I used my edge distressing tool to add dimension to the panel. The sentiment was stamped on the ruby red panel in the same color ink so that it would have just enough contrast to stand out but not be overbearing.

To help finish off the card and give it a fun little kick I added two strips of “twine,” and tied in two little knots for more detail. All panels of this card were ink distressed using a sponge and coordinating ink colors. I have been doing this to a LOT of my cards, but I think it really adds to the card (when distressing of this nature fits the design), and makes the card complete. It makes for messy fingertips, but skin is washable after all!

And finally, what sort of a happy card is complete without its very own matching envelope? I enlisted the help of my Paisley Perfection set again and love the fun it added. I would l-o-v-e to open my mailbox and see a cheery envelope like this peeking out!

SC126 Charlie Checkin' In envelope detailThank you SO much for looking! Please take a moment to let me know what you think!

God’s blessings and many more happy summer days to you all!

Leave a Reply

