CDSGDC0809 Clear Dollar Stamps Guest Designer Challenge!

  • Stamps: Clear Dollar Stamps Charlie Praying and Tag It (July 2009 SOM)
  • Paper: Certainly Celery, So Saffron, Close to Cocoa, white  CDSGDC0809 Peaceful Charlie Praying
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Creamy Caramel, Certainly Celery
  • Accessories: ribbon, caramel-colored brads, notched corner punch, dimensionals, Fiskars embossing template & stylus, sponge, scallop edge scissors (Fiskars “Clouds”), colored pencils, baby oil, blending stump
  • Technique: sponging, paper tole/3D, “Gamsol magic”

How exciting – -today I am bringing you my very first card entry for a contest!  Clear Dollar Stamps offers a monthly contest to find a guest designer for the upcoming month.  This month’s challenge happens to be a sketch challenge, and a “challenging” one it is!  (Full challenge details can be found here or by clicking on the sketch below)

CDSGDC0809 sketch

I thought about this card for a LONG time – I even started it once just to scrap what I’d done so far and start all over!  As always, I wanted to be proud of the finished product, but since this one was for a contest I wanted to be extra proud! 🙂  I decided to take on a new-to-me sort of color combination to really challenge myself by stepping out of my comfort level a little bit.  After all, if you don’t put yourself out on a limb a little bit once in awhile you probably CDSGDC0809 _full2won’t be getting too far from where you are right now!

Eventually, I decided I wanted to sort of do an “abstract” take on the sketch, by modifying how the four rectangular “panels” at the bottom of the sketch were actually used.  In this card, I decided a ribbon would be one layer, and the remaining three layers would be created using different textures and the sentiment itself.  The instructions for the challenge stated that the oval on the sketch could be any shape, so I elected to modify it by using a rectangle with the edges cut off (using a notched corner punch) to mesh with an oval-type idea.

Charlie was done by stamping him on white cardstock in Chocolate ChipCDSGDC0809 Charlie Detail ink and using colored pencils and baby oil to color him, with the aid of a blending stump.  I also used mounting foam to raise him up off the white panel to give him some extra dimension.  The white panel Charlie is mounted on was sponged with creamy caramel ink and mounted on a panel of Close to Cocoa paper, which was sponged in the same way.  I then mounted this panel at an angle onto the So Saffron panel to help it “lean” into the general location of the oval shape in the original sketch (which was on the right side of card), and added two caramel-colored brads to further draw the eye in that direction.

The So Saffron panel was prepared by using one of my Fiskars embossing plates in a leaf-like pattern along with their embossing stylus tool.  I trimmed the panel to be slightly smaller than the Certainly Celery cardstock I would be mounting it on, to allow the pretty green color to “peek” out around the edges and brighten things up a bit.  I embossed the entire So Saffron panel save the very bottom portion, where I planned to place the sentiment for the card.  Once that was done, I sponged the entire panel with Creamy Caramel ink to make the embossing stand out and also to help the panel mesh better with the sponging done around Charlie.

CDSGDC0809 _bottom1

For the bottom portion of the panel, I trimmed the end with my Fiskars “clouds” scissors and also sponged the edge of that.  I located a leftover scrap of pretty ribbon and affixed that to the panel, putting the bow itself toward the right to again draw the eye in that direction.

For the sentiment, I used my new Tag It set (which was the Clear Dollar Stamps Stamp of the Month for July) and stamped the frame with Certainly Celery ink on white cardstock.  Using the sentiment from the Charlie Praying set, I stamped it in Close to Cocoa ink on top of the frame image I had just done.  I then cut it out with a scissors, snipping off the pointed ends to mimic Charlie’sCDSGDC0809 inside peek panel at the top of the card, and I mounted this halfway between the bottom of the ribbon and the scallop edge in the center of the card.

One thing that always makes me giggle when I finish the card is the tendency of my mother to open it and see what’s on the inside also.  A lot of times I leave the inside blank to allow me to customize it when I’m ready to use the card, but other times I feel the need to give the inside of the card more of a “finished” appearance to match that of the outside.  After all, no matter how nice the outside of the card is, you certainly don’t want it to be a disappointment when the recipient opens it up!  I felt this particular card was a perfect candidate for a finished interior.  The soft, relaxing feeling of the outside of the card needed to be repeated on the inside as the relative empty look of a blank cardstock panel on the inside just wasn’t “doing it” in this case!

CDSGDC0809 inside viewI repeated the scallop edge look on the bottom by trimming off the so saffron panel at the same level as it was trimmed in the front of the card, and also trimming off the white panel in the same fashion.  The So Saffron panel was sponged with Creamy Caramel ink to carry that look over from the front of the card, but I elected not to sponge the white panel to keep things looking clean.

To take care of the blank area at the bottom of the card on the Certainly Celery portion, I stamped the leaves from the Charlie Praying set in the same color.  I stamped the scroll-like line from the same set, also in Certainly Celery ink, at the top of the white panel, then stamped the sentiment in Close to Cocoa ink below it.

I realize I wrote a bit of a book for this post, but I had a lot to say about this card!  Overall, I am quite pleased with how it turned out, and I hope the wonderful ladies at Clear Dollar Stamps like what they see too!  Thanks for the opportunity – I had lots of fun!

Blessings,

(fyi:  as always, this and all my other creations are also posted at SplitCoastStampers under the username “DancesWithHooves.”)

6 Responses

  1. VERY pretty! Wonderful interpretation of the sketch! Beautiful coloring!

  2. Sweet card – the embossing is really effective. Great description of how the card was produced.

  3. Love your blof name! Your card is precious! Blessings to you!

  4. I really like this card – especially the inside! Such attention to detail. Good luck with the “clear stamps” challenge!

  5. What a sweet card! That image is darling!!! You did a wonderful job with the challenge.

    P.S.- LOVE the name of your blog! 🙂

  6. I love Charlie :). This is a great card and wonderful looking inside.

Leave a Reply

