MOJO98 Masculine “Inspired by Nature”

  • Stamps: Inspired by Nature, It’s Your Birthday
  • Paper: white, Not Quite Navy, Pumpkin Pie, Bashful Blue  MOJO98 Masculine "Inspired by Nature"
  • Ink: Basic Black, Not Quite Navy, Bliss Blue, Pumpkin Pie, Versamark
  • Accessories: twine, brads, paper crimper, coluzzle, embossing powder, sponge
  • Technique: sponge, embossing

Today I’m happy to bring you my creation for the latest Mojo Monday sketch challenge.  I have been watching that blog for a few weeks, and was ready to dive in on Monday for my first shot at one of their lovely sketches.  Much to my surprise, I learned that their first sketch of each month is actually a contest!  Here’s the sketch:

Mojo98SketchThe first thing that came to mind when I saw this sketch was a sunset-type scene with Inspired by Nature.  I decided to pull out my tiny collection of designer paper to see if there was anything in there that would work to change things up a little bit from the norm.  I was happy to find this pretty masculine-type colored pin-striped paper that was easy to match with Stampin’ Up cardstock colors.

First off, I inked up the daisy image in Versamark then loaded it with Basic cardAug3of2009bBlack ink.  I stamped the image on white cardstock and embossed it with black embossing powder and my heat gun.  I then took Pumpkin Pie, Not Quite Navy, and Bliss Blue ink and sponged it on the image to mimick a sunset.

I used my coluzzle to cut out the image in a nice, even circle and sponged Not Quite Navy ink all the way around the edges.  Finally, I mounted it on a piece of Bashful Blue cardstock cut just a hair bigger to frame the image.  The circular panel was then mounted on a smaller Not Quite Navy panel which is framed with Pumpkin Pie cardstock.

I also sponged Not Quite Navy ink around the designer paper piece andcardAug3of2009c mounted that on the back panel, which was sponged the same.  I also used my paper crimper to fill in the void on the left side of the card.

Finally, I added the two white brads to the top of the card and wraped twine around the empty areas of the card.

Thanks for looking and please let me know what you think!

Blessings,

5 Responses

  1. Great job on the sketch. This is just beautiful, love the colors.

  2. Such a beautiful card! Awesome colors! You did a great job! Blessings to you!

  3. WOW! Beautiful card!

  4. this is beautiful!!

  5. This is a beautiul card! Love the inked background. So vibrant.

Leave a Reply

