“Christmas in July” 2009

  • Stamps: Peace to the World, Crosshatch
  • Paper: White, Bashful Blue, Certainly Celery, Real Red, cardJuly31of20092aGarden Green, Basic Black/Chocolate Chip
  • Ink: Basic Black, Yoyo Yellow, More Mustard, Garden Green, Bliss Blue, Going Gray, Stazon Black, Versamark
  • Accessories: brads, ribbon, edge distressor, small scallop scissors, aqua painter
  • Technique: watercoloring, distressing

What would July be without my very own bit of “Christmas in July?”  I waited until the last possible day of the month, but I finally created a pair of Christmas cards!  (I had a goal to do 10 Christmas cards a month beginning back in January, but I cardJuly31of20092bnever was in the mood to make any, so I guess I’m a bit behind on that one!)  Bear with me here – this card actually WAS created on July 31st, but I didn’t have time to photograph it or post it until now.  Please forgive me! :0)

Anyway, I decided to make a pair of cards as when you already have all the supplies out to do one card, it really only takes an extra few minutes to complete another of the same.  In this case, I used a few scraps of cardstock for matting things so I ended up using Basic Black on one card and Chocolate Chip in its place on the other.  I think I like the effect of the Chocolate Chip better with the rest ofcardJuly31of20091a the color scheme!  Also, the Real Red that was used was scraps from previous projects (we’re down to one full sheet in our stock supply – yikes!), so that’s why I placed that differently for each card.  The result is two similar cards that will both be a welcome addition to my nearly non-existant stockpile of Christmas cards for this year!

I began by first stamping the image of the lion in lamb in Stazon ink on white cardstock.  I then used my AquaPainter dipped in pools of ink (made by pressing the lids of my stamp pads down into the ink) to color the image.

cardJuly31of20091bFor additional interest, the Garden Green panels on both cards were edge distressed using my distressing tool, as well as the Real Red panel on the card with the black bar.  I added small red bows to each card to bring as much of a Christmas theme into the card as possible, and also added red brads to the first card.  The background on both the Certainly Celery and Bashful Blue panels was stamped in Versamark so it would not be overbearing.

Thanks for looking and please let me know what you think!

Blessings,

4 Responses

  1. very very cute!!!! You did a wonderful job on these!!!

    hugs,
    Cheryl

  2. how cute, great cards.

  3. Love the wonderful distressing and layering on this precious Christmas card!! Great work!

  4. Wonderful cards! Love the image! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

