SC241 Fall in the Country

  • Stamps: Country Pleasures, Print Pattern, Linen, Antique Cracking, Happy Everything  SC241 Fall in the Country
  • Paper: white, Basic Black, Not Quite Navy, Really Rust, Old Olive
  • Ink: Versamark, Old Olive, Really Rust, Not Quite Navy
  • Accessories: black embossing powder, aqua painter, watercolor pencils, silent setter, eyelets, black gingham ribbon, twine
  • Technique: embossing, watercoloring

Today I’m thrilled to bring you my creation for yesterday’s Sketch Challenge (SC241) over at Splitcoast Stampers!  With all the Christmas cards I’ve been doing lately, I was looking for an opportunity to do something else, and when I saw this week’s sketch the first set that came to mind was Country Pleasures!  I purchased this set off of eBay last year and I absolutely adore it.  There’s something about the three little scenes that makes me want to move right in!

SC241 Fall in the CountryI chose the autumn scene from the set because the fall season is just around the corner and I was really in the mood to work with that type of color scheme.  Usually I get out the cardstock I want to use and figure out my color combination before I start to color my images, but this time I decided to color the scene first and then found cardstock to match.

I first got out all my supplies to do the Gamsol Magic technique but then I got to thinking about my small, neglected collection of watercolor pencils and decided to give that a whirl instead.  I don’t have any watercolor paper (I hope to pick some up tomorrow!), but if I go easy on the amount of water I use I can usually make it work out alright on regular cardstock.  Before I began, I stamped my image in Versamark and embossed it with black embossing powder to really give it a finished look.  With the natural “frame” around the stamped image I knew it would be perfect to frame each panel in black also, so the embossing on the image just seems to make everything flow just a bit better.

I fininished all my stamping (background images on the Not Quite Navy, Old SC241 Fall in the CountryOlive, and Really Rust panels were stamped in matching ink) and assembled the card, I was really happy with the result, but wanted to do something more to just really take it over the top (in a good way!).  After a few minutes of standing there staring at the card I spotted some of our gingham ribbon and decided to tie a bit of that and a bit of twine on the edge of the Old Olive panel by first setting a few eyelets along the side and tying them through that.  Viola!  It was finished!

Thanks for looking and please take a moment to let me know what you think – if you leave a link back to your blog or online gallery, I’d be more than happy to return the favor!

Blessings,

3 Responses

  1. Chrissy – this is a gorgeous card! Your coloring is stunning!!! I’ve got to get to SCS for the card sketch. thanks for the reminder! Maria

  2. Chrissy, so pretty. Your coloring looks great. I love all the details on the card. 🙂

  3. Your coloring is fantastic! Your card is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

