SC237 Season of Joy

  • Stamps: Season of JoycardAug9of20092a
  • Paper: white, Bashful Blue, Brocade Blue, Real Red
  • Ink: Bliss Blue, Brocade Blue, Versamark
  • Accessories: red, blue and clear glitter
  • Technique: glitter

I made this card last weekend for the July 22nd Sketch Challenge (SC237) over at SplitCoastStampers.  It seems nearly impossible that I have time to do these challenges the same week they are posted in the warmer months, but I’ll often print them out and use them for inspiration when I need a little later on.  Anyway, even though I made it last weekend, I decided to “save” it for you and scheduled it to post this weekend instead in hopes it may give you a little weekend inspiration!

Here is the sketch for this challenge:

SC237 Sketch

I experimented with different color combinations but eventually settled on the white, red and two-tone blue theme that you see here.  I wanted sort of a peaceful monochromatic look with a pop of color, and I really like the way it cardAug9of20092bturned out!

I stamped the Christmas tree in Bliss Blue ink and used glitter glue in blue, red, and clear to accent it.

The back Bashful Blue panel features the word background stamp from this set stamped in Versamark, which allows the image to show up but does not overpower the sentiment, which is stamped in Brocade Blue at the bottom of the panel.

Once I put the card together, I felt that the Real Red accent just looked too bare, so with a little inspiration from one of my favorite shows, Ace of Cakes, I used my red glitter glue to add a few dots.  This pattern is often used on some of their more “pretty” cakes and I have always loved the look.  I love the look for this card too!

Since I’ve been making multiples of all the Christmas cards I’ve created thus cardAug9of20092cfar, I did the same for this design and did three total.  I like it well enough though that I may just go back and create more, but we’ll see… I like to design and create, not copy, so it’s often hard to convince myself to sit down and do something I’ve already done.  When it comes to needing many cards for one occasion, however, I think I’m going to have to make an exception! 🙂

Thanks for looking and please let me know what you think (I will *always* return the favor if you leave a link to your blog or online gallery!)!

Blessings,

Leave a Reply

