MOJOMARIA “Sympathy”

cardAug18of2009a

  • Stamps: Paper Company Studio Autumn Harvet, SU Itty Bitty Backgrounds, Hero Arts (sentiment)
  • Paper: white, Always Artichoke, More Mustard, Basic Black
  • Ink: Yoyo Yellow, Summer Sun, Really Rust, Certainly Celery, Always Artichoke, Basic Black, Creamy Caramel, Versafine Black
  • Accessories: brayer, sponge, brads, black check ribbon, Fiskars border punch, Big Shot, checkerboard texture plate, sanding block
  • Technique: brayering, sponging, direct-to-paper inking, sandpaper distressing

cardAug18of2009bOy!  Sometimes the simplest of ideas can be the hardest to translate into a finished card.  This was one such case!  The gorgeous skyline I saw while out riding my horses Sunday evening had me craving for an opportunity to work with my trusty brayer, and when I sat down to work with yesterday’s special edition Mojo Madness sketch (they’re celebrating their 100th week with sketches all week long!), the brayer is what I had in mind.  I wanted to work with fall colors, namely Always Artichoke and Really Rust, but I ended up choosing More Mustard for the highlight panel behind the sunset image as it just looked so much better there than Really Rust did.

For the skyline, I began by brayering Yoyo Yellow on a piece of white cardAug18of2009ccardstock.  I made a mask for the sun, then brayered over that with Summer Sun and Really Rust.  For the ground, I brayered first with Certainly Celery and then Always Artichoke on the bottom portion of the image.  I then masked the sky and sponged on Creamy Caramel to create the horizon.  After I stamped the wheat images in black Versafine ink, I sponged black ink at the bottom of the panel to make it feel even more like the sun setting at dusk on a fall evening.

Thanks for stopping by and please take a second to let me know what you think! If you leave a link back to your online gallery or blog I’ll be sure to visit and return the favor!

Blessings,

4 Responses

  1. What a WOW when you open your blog!!! Your card is fabulous and I love that main image! Excellent work & tsmfs

  2. Absolutely gorgeous card. You did this just on white c/s not glossy paper?

  3. Thank you both for your kind comments!

    Pam > Yes, the brayer work was done on plain white cardstock. I always use that for my brayer projects, and I honestly don’t think I’ve tried to brayer on glossy cardstock. Now you have me curious – I may just have to try that out tonight! :0)

    Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Very nice card, the brayer work is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

