MOJOFRIDAY Birthday on the Farm

cardAug22of20092a

  • Stamps: Farm Critters, Farm Sounds wheel, Chick trio (all by Clear Dollar Stamps)
  • Paper: watercolor paper, textured brick red, Chocolate Chip, Brocade Blue
  • Ink: Brocade Blue, Real Red, Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, black Stazon
  • Accessories: brown check ribbon, watercolor pencils, aquapainter, edge texturizer, sponge, Big Shot, Sizzix paisley Texturz plate, Coluzzle, sanding block
  • Technique: watercoloring, ink/sponge/edge distressing, dry embossing

This card was created for the birthday of a family friend.  He has chickens so I was thrilled to use my Farm Critters set for a birthday card!  The sketch is from the 8/21/09 special-edition Mojo sketch – MOJOFRIDAY (for their 100th sketch celebration week last week) and it was a fun one to work with!  The circles are quite a bit different than what I usually work with but the end result is pretty neat in my opinion so I may have to work with this idea some more in the future!  That’s what I enjoy about making cards for challenges – they really force me to “think outside the box” and get my creative juices flowing!

cardAug22of20092bI used watercolor pencils and an aqua brush to color the chicken first, and then set out to decide on a coordinating color combination.  I knew that I wanted to use red and chocolate chip but I needed to come up with another accent color.  Naturally, since this card is for a male, I decided to look in the blue color family, and Brocade Blue fir the “farm-ey” feel of the card perfectly with its dusty qualities.

For added interest, all panels (less the colored image itself and its matting) are sponged in matching ink.  I ran the Brocade Blue panel through out Big cardAug22of20092cShot with a paisley texture plate and took a sanding block to that for further texture.  I originally intended to make this card with the guidelines for Friday’s Limited Supplies Challenge at SCS, which was to create a masculine card with no flowers, ribbon, or bling, but when I finished it I felt that the only way to actually make the card complete was to add the brown check ribbon! :0)

Thank you for stopping by! If you have a spare moment, please leave me a quick comment – it would be very much appreciated! (and don’t forget to leave a link back to your blog or gallery so I can come admire your creations!)

Blessings,

One Response

  1. Cute card .
    Left a message for you on my blog candy.

Leave a Reply

