SC243 WT 234 A Merry Season

cardSept6of2009a

  • Stamps: A Beautiful Season, Linen, Woodcut Holly wheel
  • Paper: Ruby Red, Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, cream
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip, Ruby Red
  • Accessories: brown check ribbon, gold Sharpie, dots embossing template, Big Shot, Sizzlits letters
  • Technique: sanding, embossing

cardSept6of2009bToday I am bringing you another “double challenge” card. The first challenge was from last week’s Sketch Challenge at SplitCoast (SC243). It was a nifty sketch and I printed it out on time last week but never got a chance to work with it. I had it in my stack of such sketches and pulled it out this afternoon and decided to have a go of it! The second challenge was for this week’s Ways To Use It challenge: WT234 “Sand It.” Stampin’ Up cardstock isn’t really the best cardstock to use this technique with because they dye their paper all the way through, where some of the lesser-quality papers don’t and when you sand it you’ll actually reveal some of the white underneath the dyed portion. However, I like the effect on the Old OlivecardSept6of2009c panel here where it just roughs up the perfect circles that I had embossed with our Big Shot and helps them blend into the design of the rest of the card a little better.

I decided to test out our previously-untouched alphabet Sizzlits templates for this card and I had fun doing it! I originally cut them out in the same cream-colored cardstock as I stamped the snowman image on but it just wasn’t quite right. I determined that with the help of a gold marker I could make it work and I think it did! Not quite the “fancy” sort of font that would fit the theme of this card the best, but close enough!

THANK YOU for stopping by and I truly hope that you will take a minute to let me know what you think of this card!

Blessings to you and yours,

One Response

  1. love the colors you’ve chosen to work with for this! cute stamp and love the Merry this way!!! tfs!
    Pam Going Postal

Leave a Reply

