AVS202 Winter Trees

cardSep7a1

  • Stamps: Trees Three, Clear Dollar Stamps Argyle Factory
  • Paper: white, Basic Black, Certainly Celery, textured grey
  • Ink: Certainly Celery, Going Gray, Basic Black
  • Accessories: ribbon, snowflake brads; scallop-edge scissors, Basic Black marker, glue pen, glitter, brayer, white gel pen
  • Technique: sponging/distressing, braying, glitter

Oh how I enjoy challenges that really test my creativity!  The Verve Stamp company celebrated their anniversary last month by hosting a series of special sketch challenges as part of a celebratory contest.  I printed off the list of challenges for future inspiration and on Labor Day pulled out AVS202 to help me celebrate the recent arrival of my very own Trees Three stamp set (one that was only released in a SU Mini Catalog during my year-and-a-half away from stamping, and I have been dying to own it ever since I got back into my creative groove!)!!!

AVS202

Looking at the sketch above, you’re probably wondering what was so challenging about it – after all, the sketch itself is pretty detailed, with shapes and cardSep7a2embellishments pretty much already added in.  But you see, that is exactly why it can be such a challenge! (Are you confused yet? haha)  The challenge comes in trying to create a card that is truly unique and different from all the other cards that were created with the same sketch.  It’s more than just using a different stamp set and color combination than everybody else – it’s about owning the sketch and making it your own!  Hopefully, this card reflects my style and not just the Verve sketch.

It may be pretty hard to see it in the photographs, but I stamped an argyle pattern in black ink on the two black panels on the left to add a little texture, as well as sponging Basic Black cardSep7a3around the edges.  I also sponged matching inks on the Certainly Celery and gray panels and ended up adding a little Basic Black on the corners as well.  The two back panels aren’t exactly the same proportions as shown in the sketch… I sort of flipped them, as I felt it balanced out my particular card a little better.

Thank you so much for visiting my stamping blog today!  I hope you have found something here to get your own creative juices flowing.  If you have a minute, please leave me a comment with a link back to your own blog or online gallery so that I may come see how your crafting has been going!

Blessings to you and yours,

Leave a Reply

