Challenges · Sketch Challenges (Wednesdays)

Sketch Challenge Design Inspiration – SC757

Another design sample as part of the Splitcoast Stampers Sketch Challenge Guest Design Team!  I have participated in these challenges basically since I found SCS, and to have been given the amazing opportunity to contribute a card to the weekly inspiration roundup that goes along with it is humbling and I am incredibly grateful, excited, and, well… nervous!

Current and past sketch challenges, as well as all of the details, can be found here.  Past sketch challenge design team samples I have created can be found here and also in my gallery on SplitCoast.

Without further ado, here is my card for this week’s sketch challenge at SCS!

2019-07-07 16.00.57

I’ve been MIA these past two weeks from not just these sketch challenges, but my cardmaking too… this having to drive just shy of one hundred miles one way just to see my horse right now is sure eating on my discretionary time!

That said, there are several things coming up in the near future that I consider a handmade card a “must” for, so with Diane’s fun sketch for this week, I made time over a few days to get in the craft room for at least a little bit.  In fact, I nearly completed this clean and simple design in about 20 minutes, but had to leave it to get to work on time.  When I came back to it several days later, I spent some time eyeing it up and trying to decide what to add to it to make it finished, and added the colored pencil accents to the tag, the nuvo drops (seems to be a steep learning curve for me with these – not on how to apply them, but where and how many! This one almost looks like the poor card got pimples!), and the burlap ribbon.

20190707_154910

This card is for a “horse family” friend who is retiring next week, after a long career in a very demanding career.  In his free time, he busies himself with the care of his ranch, and does a superb job keeping both horses and human clients there happy as well.  He is one of the hardest working folks I know, but always in good spirits, and always has the time to ask you how you are doing.  Naturally, I wanted to do something not too showy for him – something that was warm yet still clean and simple, and of course using one of my favorite farm-related stamp sets naturally followed. 🙂

20190707_154924

Thank you so much for stopping by today and I hope you enjoyed this card!  May it inspire you to get in your own crafting spot and create a little handmade happiness to share with another!

Blessings,

Chrissy

2019-07-07 16.01.50

Title: SC757 Congratulations Joe!
Keywords: SC757, monochromatic, CAS
Stamps: Farm Life
Ink: Sahara Sand, Stazon Jet Black
Paper: Neenah Solar White 80#
Paper Size:   A2
Technique: Monochromatic, clean and simple, tag, colored pencil
Accessories: Nuvo Crystal drops (morning dew, pale gold), burlap ribbon, colored pencils, foam mounting tape