Challenges · Clean and Simple Cards (Mondays) · Free For All Challenges (Fridays) · Hero Arts · Hero Arts · Try a New Technique Challenge (Mondays)

Dirds! | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

Good afternoon and Happy Drop Everything and Read Day, friends!

Ever heard of a dird? Neither had I, but when I saw the challenge to make some a few weeks ago at Splitcoaststampers.com, I realized I knew what they were – and you probably do, too!

Click below to jump for more pictures and full details on today’s design!

Rather than risk causing more confusion than necessary, let me share with you what the challenge hostess, Beverly, had to say to introduce these cuties:

Calligrapher Suzie Beringer from the Pacific Northwest teaches a class on how to make these adorable birds that she calls Dirds (short for Dirty Birds). We have stamps instead of calligraphy, but we can make Dirty Birds too.

https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/technique-lovers-challenge-44/tlc996-dirds-3-25-2024-a-646439/

If you ask me, they are super cute, too!

Some crafters chose to make adorable 3D Dirds like the example from Suzie given in the challenge post, but I opted for the classic, 2D kind I’d come across a few times over the years. The same day of the challenge, eager to create a smile for someone and with a handful of minutes left of my lunch break, I broke out my Distress mini ink cubes, a paintbrush and cup of water, and after a quick pencil sketch I had my bird on the paper and left him (or is it a her?) to dry.

… and didn’t return again until this past Monday night. I found a leftover background from a diecut I’d made another time (I think last winter?), added some ink blended clouds, and quick ran a few scraps of paper through embossing folders. It wasn’t until the end of today’s lunch break that I finally had time to finish this card!

This will go to my husband for National Husband Appreciation Day this year – quickly approaching (April 20th!).

I am also entering this in the following:

  • Splitcoast Stampers TLC 996 – Dirds
  • Hero Arts Stay Crafty With Hero April challenge – Anniversary
  • Splitcoast Stampers CAS 789 – Zoo Animals – a bit of a stretch perhaps, but without the embossing, I’d say it would most defiantly qualify for CAS!
  • Splitcoast Stampers F4A 738 – Create Your Own Background – mine was done with ink blending and embossing

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:  Dirds!
SCS Keywords:    TLC996, CAS789, Bird, Dird, Dirds, spring, summer, fun, Husband Appreciation Day, Husband,
Stamps:    MMH 2018 set
Ink:      Coastal Cabana
Paper:    Crumb Cake, Flirty Flamingo
Paper Size:   A2
Technique:        Embossing, ink blending, watercolor, freehand, fussy cutting
Accessories:       Dies from Hero Arts (MMH 18 set), stencil from Lawn Fawn

My latest posts:

3 thoughts on “Dirds! | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

Leave a comment