Mother's Day/Father's Day · Occasions · Stampin Up

Father’s Day with Tin Tile Embossing Folder| DancesWithHooves Paper Design

Can you believe it’s almost time for Father’s Day?  Didn’t we just celebrate St. Patrick’s Day… or Christmas for that matter?  Time sure does fly!

Though we’re still not necessarily in the clear to treat our dads to a dinner out this year just yet as in year’s past, we’re looking a bit safer than we did this time at Mother’s Day.  Yet, they’ll probably get the same sort of visit and “IOU” that we gave our moms.

But of course, cards are still in order and no virus can stop those!  My dad doesn’t take much note of my handmade cards and would be just as happy with a funny greeting card purchased from the store, but my Father-In-Law really loves my cards, so I couldn’t not make him one for the holiday… and then I couldn’t make him one and then not take the time to do the same for my own dad!

I was inspired by a card in the new SU catalog for these (can you tell which one?  Maybe; maybe not!) and got to play with a couple of colors I’ve probably never put together before – Night of Navy and Lost Lagoon (retired).  It was exciting and scary all at once, but I think I managed to balance it out alright by adding some greenery in Mossy Meadow and a metallic copper scrap from some I’d purchased at a local crafts store awhile back.

I took a sanding block to that rear embossed panel, believe it or not, and looking at it you might not notice but side-by-side with the un-sanded block it was quite obvious.  Between that and taking the time to clear heat emboss the sentiment, I’m not sure either is even hardly perceptible, so the payoff may not be there, but I do like the detail of it myself.  Cardmakers would notice! Dads, well, probably not. 🙂

This was a fun one!  I can’t usually say that for masculine cards, but I am truly happy not just to have the “I-have-to-make-two-masculine-cards-for-our-dads” stress hanging over me, but also happy with the end result.

I am submitting this design for the following Splitcoast challenge:

  • F4A535 – Back to Square One, which challenges us to make square cards.  Click the title to jump to the challenge description, click here to see other cards submitted in the challenge gallery.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:
SCS Keywords: F4A535
Stamps: Inspired by Nature 
Ink: Night of Navy (SU), Onyx Black (Versafine) 
Paper: Night of Navy, Lost Lagoon, Mossy Meadow, Neenah Solar White 80#, copper 
Paper Size:   A2
Technique: Embossing (heat & dry), distressing
Accessories: Tin Tile embossing folder, leaf sprig punch (both SU), Stampin’ Write Markers, Fiskars corner punch, clear embossing powder, sanding block