Autumn · Occasions · Seasonal · Stamp Companies · Stampin Up · Weddings

Nature Silhouettes Wedding Card

cardAug19of2009a

  • Stamps: SU! Nature Silhouettes, SU! All Holidays (outside sentiment), The Stamp Barn (inside sentiment), Anna Griffin (background)
  • Paper: glossy white, Chocolate Chip, More Mustard
  • Ink: Chocolate Chip, More Mustard
  • Accessories: notched corner punch, small leaf punch, Fiskars leaf border punch, ribbon
  • Technique: Gate-Fold card

I’ll be darned… no distressing, sponging, *or* embossing and I’m actually still happy with this card! :0)  My boss is getting married next month, and ever cardAug19of2009bsince I received the invitation awhile back I’ve been wondering what on earth I was going to make for the card.  You see, usually my mom and I like to do our wedding cards with some elements of the invitation, wedding colors, etc in it to tie it in with the “theme” of the event.  In the past, we’ve even disassembled invitations and used an actual piece or two of the invite on the resulting card if the invitation had usable components.  However, my boss is marrying a graphic designer, and the invitation she designed is a lot different than what I’m used to seeing.  Different, but still beautiful!  It is a two-sided card (no fold, printed on front and back) printed on glossy paper.  It has the silhouette of a tree in brown with a white background and one each of yellow, orange, and red leaves.  I’d love to show you the invitation itself but I’d feel the need to ask her permission to post it here first and I don’t want either her or my boss to see this card until they open the envelope! :0)  (There’s about zero chance either of them know about this blog so I feel “safe” showing it to you guys before I give it to them!)

Obviously, the first thing that came to mind as far as stamps to use for this set was Nature Silhouettes.  The problem was trying to come up with a card design that would fit the theme of the invitation while still being “pretty.”  cardAug19of2009cAfter all, this is a wedding card!  I was back and forth on ideas until yesterday I decided to try out a gate-fold card, which I thought might help remedy the issue of what to do with the “dead space” left over outside of the tree image itself.

I am super pleased with how this turned out!  I hope they enjoy it!

Thanks for stopping by and please take a second to let me know what you think of the card!  If you’ll be so kind as to leave a link back to your online gallery or blog I’ll return the favor!

Blessings to you and yours,

Leave a comment