Challenges · Christmas · Color Challenges (Tuesdays) · Mojo Monday Sketch Challenges · Seasonal · Stamp Companies · Stampin Up

MOJO99, CC231 King Of All

  • Stamps: Miracle of Christmas, Linen, Cheesecloth  cardAug11of2009a
  • Paper: white, cream, Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, Rose Red
  • Ink: bleach, Chocolate Chip, Creamy Caramel, Old Olive
  • Accessories: sponge, brads
  • Technique: bleach stamping, sponge distressing

I was happily able to combine two fun challenges for this card.  I am on sort of a “Christmas kick” this week I guess and the set that I thought would work best with the sketch part of the challenge was the retired Miracle of Christmas set from Stampin Up.  I especially love to use faith-based stamps on my Christmas cards as Jesus *is* the reason for the season, so these sorts of cards are extra-special to me.

The Sketch Challenge came from the Mojo Monday blog, and this week’s sketch was a fun one, and unlike anything I have ever done before!

Mojo99Sketch

cardAug11of2009bI headed over to SplitCoastStampers yesterday to see what the Tuesday Color Challenge had in store, as I thought it would be fun to try out a new color combo as well.  Much to my surprise, I saw that the color challenge this week (CC231) was actually more of a technique challenge:  Pick a base color of card stock, and stamp your image in bleach on it, using whatever color it turned to as another color in your color combo.

Anyway, here’s what I came up with!  I like how the image of Mary holding baby Jesus is subtle yet still very noticeable.  I chose slightly less “traditional” Christmas colors as I wanted something that would play off the lighter, “prettier” feel created by stamping in bleach.

In addition to using background stamps on the Old Olive and Chocolate Chip cardAug11of2009cpanels, I sponged matching ink on the corners to distress it further and add interest.  In addition, I stamped baby Jesus Himself inside the card in Old Olive ink and stamped the sentiment over that in Chocolate Chip.

Thanks for looking and please take a moment to let me know what you think (I *always* return the favor if you leave a link back to your online gallery or blog!)

Blessings,

3 thoughts on “MOJO99, CC231 King Of All

Leave a comment