Challenges · Mojo Monday Sketch Challenges · Occasions · Stamp Companies · Stampin Up · Thinking of You

MOJO101 Riveting Ruby

  • cardAug24of2009aStamps: Riveting, Sweet Serendipity
  • Paper: white, Ruby Red, Certainly Celery, textured soft yellow
  • Ink: Ruby Red, Certainly Celery
  • Accessories: circle punches (3/4″ and 1 1/2″), glitter glue, foam mounting tape, Sizzix Texturz plates (daisy and “friend”)
  • Technique: embossing, 3D

A big “thank-you” to the Mojo Monday crew for another awesome sketch!  I have done several square cards recently, and this week’s Mojo Monday sketch (MOJO101) called for another, and I happily obliged!  I trimeed the hooves of cardAug24of2009cone of my horses last night after work (Dreamer, the pretty boy in my avatar picture with me over on the right there), and then I took him for a ride afterward, so needless to say I didn’t have the time to make a super detailed card – I wanted something clean and simple!

It took some playing around to decide on a color combo I was happy with and then some more thinking to make the layers work together in a visually appealing way.  I ended up creating my own “designer paper” by using the Big Shot and a couple of Texturz plates on the main Ruby Red and Certainly Celery panels.  For the Certainly Celery panel that was to frame the sentiment, I repeatedly stamped an image from the Sweet Serendipity set in Certainly Celery ink.

I punched out the inner circle of the Riveting stamp and raise that off of the cardAug24of2009bsmaller Certainly Celery panel with foam mounting tape.  I applied clear glitter glue to the outside rim of the image.  I then cut out the star image I had just cut out and adhered that to the background.

All in all, it is a pretty “short and sweet” type of card but I think it turned out fun and I’m pleased with it!  Usually I want to keep adding stuff to a simple card like this before I’m happy but in this case I’m pleased with it just as it is!

Thanks for stopping by and please take a moment to let me know what you think by leaving a comment for me! If you leave a link back to your online gallery or blog I’d love to see your work also!

Blessings,

2 thoughts on “MOJO101 Riveting Ruby

  1. This is so great Chrissy! Really crisp and clean! I love your blog name, I thought about calling my blog ‘dances with cat’s’ as I have a thing going on with those furry critters! Jo x

    Like

Leave a comment