Paper Crafting

Miles Apart for the PALS Blog Hop | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

Mary Fish's Pretty Pals Blog Hop logo

Hello, welcome to the Stampin’ Pretty Pals’ Blog Hop! This month our Design Team created projects where “It’s the Sentiment that Counts.” We hope you enjoy and will be inspired by them! Don’t forget to leave comments! We love hearing from you. At the end of my post, you will find the full line-up to help you “hop” along from Pal to Pal.

Two cards with Forever Fern and Lovely You stamp sets.

Who loves fall? That’s me over here, waving my arms madly. What’s not to love? Fewer bugs, crisp and comfortable air, beautiful colors everywhere you look, and combines in the fields.

Ok, maybe the thrill of combines working on the harvest is just me, but I digress…

Card with Forever Fern and Lovely You stamp sets.
I debated between ideas I had for the main background panel, and ended up narrowing it to two – one for each card. Here, the Pinewood Planks embossing folder, and the Subtle folder for the second. Two of my favorites!

Naturally, I’m in an autumn mood. With the lovely cooler temps as of late here in Northern Minnesota, my mind has gone full-tilt toward all things fall. Beautiful oranges and ruby reds contrasting with a crisp blue sky and the still-green grass is about the epitome of God’s beauty in nature, in my humble opinion, so I had to use that as my inspiration for today’s card.

“The heavens declare the glory of God;
    the skies proclaim the work of His hands.”

Psalm 19:1
Card with Forever Fern and Lovely You stamp sets.
I sponged the edges of each card with crumb cake, including some areas away from the edges, for a weathered feel.

I combined two of my newest Stampin Up sets, Forever Fern and Lovely You, grabbed a piece of the stunning new Plaid Tidings paper pack, and went to work.

With the focus being the sentiment for this design, I was a little hesitant to go too crazy with the color, so used crumb cake in order to provide less starkness and perhaps more of an autumn feel to the design.

Closeup of card with Forever Fern and Lovely You stamp sets.
You know I’d have to find a place to add glitter! Just a few accents on the leaves to add visual interest and contribute to the idea of a perfect, crisp fall day.

These cards are for a couple of friends – one celebrating her birthday in October, and I hope they bring them as much joy to receive as they gave me in designing them.

Closeup of card with Forever Fern and Lovely You stamp sets.
Masking and the same glitter accents on the foliage help to add interest to the inside of the finished designs.

More inspiration awaits! Use the Blog Hop Line-up below to visit the rest of this month’s Design Team. My fellow Pals are excited to show you what they’ve created! Mark your calendars for our next blog hop on October 14th when our theme is “Tag, You’re It!” Participants will showcase tags or 3D items that will be great for gifts for any occasion. Don’t miss the fun! Until then, please stay safe and have fun in your craft room.

Stampin’ Pretty Pals’ Blog Hop Line-up

  1. Mary Fish at Stampin’ Pretty
  2. Tricia Chuba at ButterDish Designs
  3. Jeanie Stark at Just Stampin’
  4. Melissa Seplowitz at The Stamping Ninja
  5. Jen Roque at Stamp Camp with Jen
  6. Rae Harper Burnet at Wild West Paper Arts
  7. Jackie Beers at Blue Line Stamping
  8. Karen Hallam at Karen’s Stamping Habit
  9. Deb Walker at Deb Stamps Life
  10. Michelle Gleeson at StampinMojo
  11. Peggy Noe at Pretty Paper Cards
  12. Sue Jackson at Just Peachy Stamping
  13. Mary Hanson at Up North Stampin’
  14. Debbie Mageed at Secrets to Stamping
  15. Leah O’Brien at Honey Bee Stamping & More!
  16. Dacia Smith at My Creative Days
  17. Su Mohr at Aromas And Art
  18. Diana Carr at The Secret Life of Paper
  19. Stesha Bloodhart at Stampin’ Hoot!
  20. Christine Eck at Dances With Hooves Paper Design <– You are HERE! :0)
  21. Beth McCullough at Stamping Mom
  22. Wendy Klein at Doggone Delightful Stampin’
  23. Ann Murray at Murray Stamps INK
  24. Pamela Sadler at Stampin’ Pink Rose
  25. Lisa Ann Bernard at Queen B Creations
  26. Lynn Kolcun at Avery’s Owlery

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

Two cards with Forever Fern and Lovely You stamp sets.
This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 
Title:  Miles Apart
SCS Keywords:    PALS, Stampin Up,
Stamps:    Forever Fern, Lovely You
Ink:      Crumb Cake, Pumpkin Pie, Daffodil Delight, Versafine Onyx Black
Paper:    Crumb Cake, Plaid Tidings Designer Series Paper, White
Paper Size:   A2
Technique:        Die cutting, Embossing, ink distressing, masking
Accessories:       Forever Flourishing and Stitched Rectangle dies, Pinewood Planks & Subtle embossing folders, Gelly Roll glitter pen, Stampin’ Dimensionals, sponge
I’m celebrating World Card Day and invite you to join me!

23 thoughts on “Miles Apart for the PALS Blog Hop | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

  1. Thank you so much, Jennifer! Yes, I think that’s the one I prefer, also – and to believe I thought it was going to be “too much” with that design for the backdrop! LOL

    Like

  2. Congrats on your first blog hop, that was me a few months ago. You did a great job! My favorite is the Pine Woods Plank background. I love the happy colors for your fall card. I’m sure you will brighten someone’s mailbox soon. Thanks for sharing and I hope you will join us again next month.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment