Birthdays · Clean and Simple Cards (Mondays) · Clear Dollar Stamps · Occasions · Stamp Companies

WSC93, CAS28 Masculine Birthday

cardAug17of2009a

  • Stamps: Botanicals by Scrappy Cat, Tag It by Clear Dollar Stamps
  • Paper: Close to Cocoa, Creamy Caramel, Certainly Celery, cream
  • Ink: Certainly Celery, Always Artichoke, Creamy Caramel
  • Accessories: Big Shot, Quick Cutz embossing folder, circle punch
  • Technique: two-step stamping

Today’s offering is a combination of two recent challenges.  The first is Clean and Simple #28 (CAS28) at SCS, which was a challenge to create a simple, cardAug17of2009buncluttered card with a masculine feel.  I was excited for this as we have so few masculine cards in our “stash” and this provided a good excuse to remedy that.  Later I stumbled upon the Weekend Sketch Challenge (WSC93) on Beate’s blog and thought I would try to combine that with the first challenge.

Flowers aren’t often associated with masculine things, but I figured leaves are and the Botanicals set I picked up a few weeks ago seemed like a perfect fit for this challenge.  The color combo I chose was the first thing that came to mind when I decided to create this card and I’m happy with the result – pretty, but not in a “girly” way! 🙂cardAug17of2009c

Because this is a “Clean and Simple” card, I wanted to stay away from using any true embellishments, but the card still needed some texture to make it more visually appealing.  So, I turned to our brand new Big Shot and the embossing folder we picked up for help.  Fun!  I think it is just what this card needed!

Thanks for stopping by and please take a second to let me know what you think!  If you leave a link back to your online gallery or blog I’ll be sure to visit and return the favor!

Blessings,

3 thoughts on “WSC93, CAS28 Masculine Birthday

  1. I was checking out the other WSC participants and your stood out because of the horse reference, so I had to stalk over. Fantastic card!!

    Like

Leave a comment