Clean and Simple Cards (Mondays) · Newton's Nook · Paper Crafting · Sympathy

Forever Remembered – Pet Sympathy card suite with Newton’s Nook Furr-ever Friends | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

As I set off to create these cards last week for a few households who are standing in the wake of untimely losses of their furry companions, with a close call of our own freshly on our minds, I thought back to times I myself had been the recipient of a card after the loss of a loved animal in my life.

And I realized, receiving cards like these feels somewhat like ripping off a band aid. It’s incredibly painful, exposing a defect yet again to the air, causing it to burn anew, as though it is once again a fresh wound.

Click below to jump for more pictures and full details on today’s design!

It causes the raw feeling to resurface, and for me at least, more tears to fall, and usually fall in abundance. But it also helps into next phase of healing.

So I hope it will be with these cards when they reach their destinations, on two different sides of our continent.

Rest in peace, Lucy and Niikwe, and may your humans fill the voids you left in their hearts with the love you shared with them.

It was my hope with this design to create a sort of soft, comforting look that gives the feel of a warm, comfortable blanket on a winter’s day – a feeling that always warms my heart and hopefully brings some loving warmth to those who receive these cards.

Though two pets were currently dearly missed, I created four cards in total to have a few on hand for future needs, to be able to send out at a moment’s notice. Both of these sweet furry souls passed on well over a week ago, but due to some unexpected circumstances in our life, I wasn’t able to get in the craft room at all until this weekend.

Entering this in CAS620, which encourages us to re-create a card we’ve done in the past.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you truly make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:  Forever Remembered
SCS Keywords:    CAS620, Pet Sympathy, Sympathy, Furr-Ever Friends, Newtons Nook, CAS, Clean and Simple, Canine, Dogs
Stamps:    Furr-ever Friends (Newton’s Nook)
Ink:      Gray Granite (SU), Onyx Black (Versafine), distress inks in Milled Lavender and Speckled Egg
Paper:    Neenah Solar White 80#
Paper Size:   A2
Technique:        Ink Blending, Freehand, Clean and Simple
Accessories:       Blending brushes, Gelly Roll Glitter Pen

My latest posts:

Leave a comment