Challenges · Hampton Art · Paper Crafting · Thinking of You · Try a New Technique Challenge (Mondays)

Diamond Origami Fold card with Tracey Hey’s Make a Splash | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

A stamping friend of mine recently told a few of us in our circle a very good friend of hers’ wife was in a bad car accident last week with their two young children – and simply put, the two children are in need of some prayers. She asked if any of us would be willing to send them a fun spring or Easter card, as their dad told her they really enjoyed getting the cards she would mail them on occasion.

Click below to jump for more pictures and full details on today’s design!

Remembering a fun fold featured in one of Split Coast’s challenges last week, I recalled how much fun I had trying to make Origami birds and other creatures when I was their age, so I decided to give it a shot.

Closed, it fits in a standard A2 size envelope. 🙂 (Since I chose to do a “double” version, however, the card was thick enough to require extra postage (non-machinable stamp), but that’s well worth it if it can bring these two little kids some cheer!

I am entering this in the weekly Technique Lover’s Challenge at SCS – new challenge every Monday!

For reference, here’s the template Anita gave us to base the card off of. The route I went (the “double” design) required two of these, glued back-to-back, to finish the card and really make it look like origami. 🙂

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:  Blow Away Your Troubles
SCS Keywords:    TLC839, Diamond Fold, Origami, Hampton Art, Tracey Hey, Sea, Octopus
Stamps:    Make A Splash (Hampton Art with Alpaca Pals/Tracey Hey)
Ink:      Versafine Onyx Black, Basic Grey
Paper:  Whisper White, misc dsp  
Paper Size:   Finished size: 3 x 5 1/2 (closed); 9 x 5 1/2″ (open)
Technique:   Diamond Fold with an Origami Twist, Watercoloring with dye ink, fussy cutting    
Accessories:       Scoring Board, Wink of Stella Glitter brush pen, watercolor brush

My latest posts:

2 thoughts on “Diamond Origami Fold card with Tracey Hey’s Make a Splash | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

  1. This is so cute! The fold is so interesting. The children will love it. I am so very sorry for the family. Car accidents are so frightening.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, Angela – thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and for the very kind sentiments! I deeply appreciate it!!!! (Anyone else reading this – go check out Angelia’s blog… she is the most AMAZING watercolor artist and cardmaker!!!!!!)

    Like

Leave a comment