Christmas · Walmart Clear Stamps

Warm Wishes Moose

  • Stamps: Walmart clear holiday stamps (moose & sentiment), SU! Print Pattern and Linen
    Warm Wishes Moose
    Warm Wishes Moose

    (background)

  • Paper: White, Always Artichoke, Mellow Moss, Real Red
  • Ink: Versafine black, SU! Markers
  • Accessories: colored pencils, baby oil, red ribbon, red & gold glitter, sponge
  • Technique: “Gamsol magic,” sponging

About a week ago, I came across this thread on Splitcoast stampers where someone had discovered that Walmart had created their own line of clear stamps for the holidays and were selling them nationwide.  I fell in love with a set with porcuppines, a bear, an owl, and a moose and after calling our local Walmart to be sure they were in stock there, I headed out promptly after work to pick up my new treasure.  However, although I had given the lady on the phone the SKU # of the stamp set (thanks SCS!), and she had assured me they had them (6 in stock, to be exact), after an hour-long exhaustive search of the entire store and asking no less than four associates if they knew where I could find them, I left empty-handed.  I replied to the thread the next day (Tuesday) with my dissapointing news, and soon received a reply from Bonnie, a very generous regular on SCS who offered to pick me up a set at her local Walmart and send them to me, charging me only what it cost her!  My stamps arrived in the mail on Saturday and I finally had a chance to work with them last night.  Here is what I created!  (For those of you who want to go check out your local Walmart for these stamps, please let me warn you that people have had a very difficult time locating them at their Walmarts also as it seems they are not usually in with the rest of the craft items.  One lady even found them in a display in the pharmacy department!)

Notes about this card:  Moose was stamped in black ink and body colored first using baby oil and colored pencils.  Leggings colored using SU! Markers and glitter.  Put gold glitter over coloring on antlers. Main background panel design created by using Real Red and Always Artichoke SU! Markers on the Print Pattern background stamp and then stamped over with linen background stamp and Always Artichoke ink.  Sponged Always Artichoke ink on edges to give it a little more dimension.

And also, please take a moment to visit Bonnie’s blog (Creative Minds) and her gallery on SplitCoastStampers and thank her for sharing her talents with us so we can all gain inspiration from her creative mind! :0)

Thanks for looking and make sure to let me know what you think!

Blessings,