Paper Crafting

CFC03 Operation Quiet Comfort

CFC03 Operation Quiet Comfort
CFC03 Operation Quiet Comfort

This card is not an original creation by me – I “CASE’d” it from a card I saw in the Splitcoaststampers galleries a few years ago.  However, I thought it would be perfect for this month’s SCS Cards for a Cause Challenge:  Operation Quiet Comfort.  If you would, please take a moment to check out this link  for more information about this month’s challenge and send in some of your own creations to benefit our brave soldiers!

Challenges · Christmas · Stampabilities · Stampin Up · Ways To Use It Challenges (Thursdays)

WT191 Cutting Corners Christmas

  • Stamps:  Stampabilities PR1007 Vintage Lamp Post and D1003 Peace on Earth; Woodcut Holly jumbo SU wheel 

    WT191 Cutting Corners Christmas
    WT191 Cutting Corners Christmas
  • Paper: White, Read Red, Garden Green
  • Ink: Versamark, pigment Gold; Watercolored with Real Red, Chocolate Chip, Summer Sun, Going Gray and Sahara Sand; Sponged with Basic Black and Garden Green
  • Accessories: black embossing powder, liquid applique, glitter gels (clear, gold, and red), red ribbon, ticket corner punch, holly leaf punch, white gel pen
  • Technique: embossing, watercoloring, sponging

I whipped this one up last night for Thursday’s Ways To Use It: Cutting Corners Challenge (WT191).  We found this “Vintage Lamp Post” stamp from Stampabilities in the clearance bin at Hobby Lobby last Saturday and I thought it would make a perfect Christmas card stamp!  I embossed the image with black embossing powder and then colored it with my ink pads and my aquapainter.  Added liquid applique to snowy areas and put a little bit of clear glitter gel on top of that to mimic the sparkle in genuine snow.  Also added glitter to lamp light portion and as berries on the wreath.  Used a white gel pen to add dots to the wreath (which I think may have taken the look a little too far… oh well!).  Note:  Instead of just putting plain garden green leaf punch-outs on the wreath (which I thought would look much too simple for the realistic scene) I sponged garden green on the leaves to give them added dimension.

Thanks for looking (and be sure to let me know what you think!)