Birthdays · Challenges · Falliday Fest · Occasions · Paper Crafting · Right At Home · Stampin Up

For Roger (inspired by nature masculine birthday card) | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

It’s that time of year again – time for coming up with something perfect for my Father-In-Law’s birthday! Would you believe he still has the first card I made for him on their refrigerator?

Making a card for him is a big deal. I like making cards for everybody and anybody, don’t get me wrong, but when I get to make one for someone that appreciates it that much, well, it’s a whole new ballgame.

Click below to jump for more pictures and full details on today’s design!

Every year this card brings me a bit of anxiety – a struggle of where to begin, and then the pressure of executing it well. He likes nature, he especially enjoys deer hunting, and I usually like to incorporate both in a design for him. You can see the past two cards I’ve created for my father-in-law here and others I made prior to the blog here. Notice a trend at all? 🙂

This year, much like last, I focused on the trees. Pines to be more specific, as there’s a LOT of them in this part of Minnesota (wayyyyyyy more than where I grew up, which has pines intermixed with a lot of hardwood… and frankly, I am partial to my hardwood!) I also took the easy way out, and as soon as I saw this card by the talented Lori Willcox, I thought – DONE!

I changed it up a bit to suit my own design tastes and preferences, but I rather like how it turned out! (My mom thinks it’s the best card “EVER” – thanks, Mom!!!! That makes me happy!)

A few “secrets” here that make this rather complex-looking design not as troublesome or time consuming as you might think:

Firstly, I started with Pear Pizzaz paper, taped it down to my glass media mat with some washi tape, leaving about an eighth inch or so of the cardstock covered, and then after stamping my trees how I wanted them, sponged Night of Navy over the image.

Secondly, I removed the washi tape to reveal a perfectly clean border all ready to go. This card is just two layers (plus embellishments and sentiment). That’s it!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂 I hope you’ll take the time to let me know if today’s card inspired you!

Blessings,

Chrissy

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:  FF20dini For Roger
SCS Keywords:    FF20dini, Falliday Fest, Northern Lights, Nature, Birthday, Masculine
Stamps:    Wonderland
Ink:      Night of Navy, Forest Foliage, White Craft
Paper:    Pear Pizzaz, Night of Navy, gold metallic
Paper Size:   A2
Technique:  Ink blending, embossing, ink splatter, dimension
Accessories:       Gold adhesive gems and embroidery thread, Script Greetings dies (Right At Home), Subtle embossing folder (SU), sponge, foam craft sheet

My latest posts:

2 thoughts on “For Roger (inspired by nature masculine birthday card) | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

  1. Thank you so much, Michelle! I’m glad you liked it and found the instructions helpful – if you decide to give it a try, I’d LOVE it if you would come back and share it with me!

    God bless you!
    Chrissy

    Like

Leave a comment