Challenges · Sketch Challenges (Wednesdays) · Teapotter Challenges (Tuesdays)

Paul Bunyan Themed Birthday Card| DancesWithHooves Paper Design

It’s Tickle A Teapotter time at SCS, and the challenge was to use red.

Red is NOT my typical flavor, so challenge this was indeed! After surveying the pickin’s in my stamp collection, I had a lightbulb moment – if sending this card to someone somewhere likely far away, why not send them a little taste of the city I live in?

Click below to jump for more pictures and full details on today’s design!

And Paul and Babe came to fruition!

Unfortunately I didn’t have any good Ox in my collection, but the cow from Hay There stood in for Babe – only the cow stamp has spots like any good Holstein would, but Babe doesn’t. What’s a girl to do?

Rely on the wisdom of her crafty youth – hold that sucker up to a window and trace, that’s what! 😆

Before actually starting the card, I found out whose name I had drawn. Not only is this paper hug going to another country (and continent!), but the recipient is celebrating her birthday next month!

Of course I had to make a fellow March baby a birthday card!

This is going out straight away in tomorrow’s mail in hopes of it reaching her as close to her birthday as possible. I hope she likes it! I sure had fun watching my vision come together!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:  Paul and Babe Birthday
SCS Keywords:    MMTPT657, SC842, Plaid, Birthday, Lawn Fawn, Bemidji, Paul Bunyan
Stamps:    Wood You Be Mine, Time of Year (both SU), Hay There (Lawn Fawn), Crafty Life (Altenew- inside sentiment and envelope)
Ink:      Gina K Amalgam, Versafine Onyx Black
Paper:    Neenah Solar White, Buffalo Check pattered paper
Paper Size:   5” x 5”
Technique:       Coloring
Accessories:       Alcohol markers, colored pencils, blending pencil, Wink of Stella Glitter Brush Pen

My latest posts:

Leave a comment