Anniversary · Avery Elle · Challenges · Hampton Art · Kat Scrappiness · Occasions · Paper Crafting · Papertrey Ink · Simon Says Stamp · Sketch Challenges (Wednesdays) · Spellbinders · Stamp Companies · Stamp Simply Ribbon Store · Weddings

SC980 Congratulations to 50 years! (an Anniversary card for my parents) – Splitcoast Stampers Sketch for 3rd week of October! | DancesWithHooves Paper Design

Good morning, everyone! I have the pleasure of hosting one sketch a month in 2023 for SplitCoast Stampers, and today my October sketch for the month is “live” and is ready for you to play with! Please come join me if you would like some creative inspiration today (and every 3rd Wednesday sketch for 2023!). Today, I bring you the card I made for my parent’s Anniversary back in August – I had so much fun with this “fun shaped” card, I just had to throw a sketch party in hopes you all would have some fun with it, too! 😁

Click below to jump for more information on today’s post!

I hope you’ll join us for this week’s sketch challenge here: SKETCH CHALLENGE 980!

It took a bit of thinking when I decided to go the route of haven’t-been-here-since-elementary-school paper hearts for the shape of their card, but I did figure it out to some extent (I think!)

Steps to execute a heart-fold card, at least per yours truly:  (I also attached pictures of  the second step and the result of step 4)

  1. Take an 8 1/2 x 11″ scrap piece of paper from your recycling bin
  2. Fold in half
  3. Fold in half again
  4. Carefully trim out half of a heart the size and shape you desire.  (Be mindful of the size of your envelopes!  My card is actually intended for a 5 X 7″, or A4-sized, envelope.)
  5. For your card base, take a 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of card stock, score, and fold in half.  Lay your template on top (being sure the “folded edge” of the template butts up to the folded edge of your base cardstock!), and lightly trace with a pencil.
  6. Cut along your pencil line.  
  7. Decorate as desired.  

Mom & Dad’s wedding color was baby blue, hence the blue hues I chose for my die cuts. And after some thorough scientific research (aka Google 😊), I found out the traditional gift for a 50th wedding anniversary is gold – so gold it was for accents and the embossed sentiments!

I was able to repurpose one of our extra envelopes from our own wedding invitations to put this card in for an extra, and matchy-matchy, surprise: (which reminds me – looks like I haven’t posted our Anniversary card here since 2022 or 21!!! Eeps!)

This card was, literally, a work of heart. ❤❤❤

Thank you so much for visiting my blog today – you make my day when you do! 🙂

Blessings,

Chrissy

This sketch can also be found in Sketch gallery on SplitCoast,

This card can also be found in my gallery on SplitCoast; “recipe” below includes keywords specific to SplitCoast Stampers challenges. 

Title:  SC980 Congratulations to 50 years, Mom & Dad!
SCS Keywords:   SC980 Stamp Simply Spellbinders Kelly Panacci wedding anniversary parents heart heart fold
Stamps:    Wedding Wishes (Stamp Simply), Wedding (Hampton Art/Kelly Panacci – inner Scripture verse)
Ink:     Versamark
Paper:     Heavy/Thick Very Vanilla (base), Leftover wedding invites (envelope), Night of Navy, Brocade Blue, Bordering Blue, Ballet Blue, gold
Paper Size:   A4-ish
Technique:       Die Cutting, Embossing (dry/Big Shot and heat)
Accessories:      Holiday Blooms (Spellbinders), Splendid Leaves Circle Frame EF (Simon Says Stamp), Detail Gold Embossing Powder (Stampendous)

My latest posts:

Leave a comment