Autumn · Challenges · Color Challenges (Tuesdays) · Stampin Up

CC194 Going Really Vanilla Friendship

  • Stamps: Season of Friendship, Print Pattern, Cheesecloth
  • Paper: Really Rust, non-SU cream & textured gray
  • Ink: Really Rust, Going Gray, Chocolate Chip

    CC194 Going Really Vanilla Friendship
    CC194 Going Really Vanilla Friendship
  • Accessories: Fiskars “Clouds” scissors, cream ribbon, brads, hole punch, sponge, matting tape, Coluzzle
  • Technique: sponge distressing, Rock and Roll

I made this card for this Tuesday’s Color Challenge: “Going Really Vanilla” (CC194) which consisted of using Really Rust, Going Gray, and Very Vanilla. I only had the Really Rust paper (do have all three inks though ) so I used what I had for the other two colors. The first set that came to mind to work with was “Season of Friendship” and I was excited to work with it again as I think I have only made one or two cards with it since I got it about a month ago (have been far too busy making Christmas cards I guess!).

First, stamped tree from Season of Friendship in Chocolate Chip ink on cream colored cardstock. Stamped leaf bunch from same set first in Going Gray ink, and then used the “rock and roll” technique to add Really Rust to the edge of the leaves for added color. Cut image out with Coluzzle and sponged Really Rust ink around the outside edge, blending inward. Mounted on panel of Really Rust cardstock and cut around shape with “Clouds” scissors by Fiskars. Punched three circles out of Really Rust cardstock with a regular size hand-held hole punch, stuck pewter brads through them, and mounted them in a line on the left side of the circular panel.

Stamped Print Pattern background stamp in Really Rust ink on back cream panel. Stamped over it with Cheesecloth stamp and sponged edges in same color ink. Stamped sentiment from Season of Friendship in Going Gray ink on a 6.5” x 4.25” panel of gray cardstock, and sponged same color ink on edges. Assembled card, adding cream-colored ribbon to cover seam and add some “pretty.”

Samson
Samson

I also thought I’d take a minute to share with you a picture of one of my personal stamping buddies. Meet my ex-barn-kitty-turned-house-cat Samson! This is him enjoying a rewarding nap on my bed earlier this fall. This is how he likes to sleep… with his belly in the air and his little feet tucked up by his chin!

Thanks so much for looking!

Blessings,

Leave a comment