Challenges · Christmas · Sketch Challenges (Wednesdays) · Stampin Up

SC201 Home for Christmas

  • Stamps: Home for Christmas, Woodcut Holly jumbo wheel
  • Paper: Bravo Burgandy, Handsome Hunter

    SC201 Home for Christmas
    SC201 Home for Christmas
  • Ink: Handsome Hunter, Baroque Burgandy, Going Gray, Chocolate Chip, Versamark
  • Accessories: Black & Antique Gold embossing powders, Ribbon, gold brads, aquapainter, Versamarker, matting tape
  • Technique: embossing, watercoloring, edge distressing

This one was for yesterday’s Sketch Challenge #201.  I started this one at 9:30 pm… shortly before I usually go to bed!  But I just had that need to make a card last night since I haven’t for a few days and don’t know why because it’s dark when I get home now so it’s not like I can be out spending hours with the horses any more after work (ugh!  All I want is 30 minutes of some sort of outdoor light once I get home!).

I’m not too happy with the way it turned out, probably because of the deep, dark colors I used (which I only made darker by adding the chocolate chip, but for some reason that color kept calling to me for the 3rd color on this card!).  Could be worse though… scanning it makes it look really bad.  I like it best when I can take card pictures in a nice sunbeam like I do on the weekends!  Overall I think it’s a good card that someone will be pleased to receive.  It’s just not one of my favorites! :0)

It’s hard to see in the scanned picture, but I used my Woodcut Holly wheel and Baroque Burgandy ink on the bottom of the chocolate chip panel.  The door image is raised with matting tape, and I highlighted the “metal” portions of the image by embossing them with antique gold embossing powder.

Thanks for looking!

Leave a comment